Books

WHERE RAVENS ROOST

HQ Digital (17 February 2021)

The raven cawed at him, craning its neck unnaturally. As it dug its hooked beak into the mess of dried grass and twigs that made up its nest, a shiny glimmer reflected off a low-hanging bulb. Kjeld edged closer to get a better look. It was a human tooth. With a silver filling.

Detective Kjeld Nygaard wants nothing more than to forget his family and Varsund, the small mining town he once called home, even exist. But while on suspension after his last case went disastrously wrong, his estranged father Stenar leaves a message on Kjeld’s phone claiming he’s seen a murder.

But with no evidence and Stenar suffering from Alzheimer’s, the local police think he must have imagined it. Kjeld can’t stop himself from investigating what actually happened, and soon discovers a body. But when the police start to suspect Stenar, it’s a race against time to discover the truth before it’s lost forever.

But will uncovering the truth expose family secrets that are best left buried?

Atmospheric and chilling, Where Ravens Roost is a gripping crime debut perfect for fans of J M Dalgliesh, Angela Marsons and Jo Nesbø.

SELECTED BLURBS

‘Brooding and atmospheric – full of mystery and twists where nothing is quite as it seems’

Catherine Cooper, author of The Chalet

‘Such a great thriller with superb characterization to boot. Hard to believe that it’s a debut’

Khurrum Rahman, author of Homegrown Hero

‘A delicious slice of Scandi noir – such a dark, atmospheric and compelling story! And ahh, if only those ravens could talk…’

Jackie Kabler, author of The Perfect Couple

‘Absolutely loved it! If you like a slow burner, Scandi Noir this is the one for you!’

Laure Van Rensburg, author of The Downfall

‘Nordin has produced an immersive tale of past secrets and flawed family relationships, all wrapped up with a… compelling narrative that had me glued to my Kindle for most of the day’

Jenny O’Brien, author of Silent Cry

‘If this is how the series starts, I can’t wait to read whatever comes next’

Paul Gitsham, author of The Last Straw

‘The menacing, wintry heart of Where Ravens Roost gripped me from the very first page! Complex, layered characterisation, skilful writing and a twisty plot combine to create a Scandi-Noir thriller as dark as a raven’s wing. Hard to believe this is a debut!’

Louise Mumford, author of Sleepless

‘The bleak but beautiful settings are incredibly vivid (you’ll want to wear a coat while you read this) and there are twists and turns around every corner’

Steve Frech, author of Dark Hollows

HQLogo

hc-logo_1_orig